Autosave & How Not to Overwrite an Original File
Created by: Deleted Agent
Modified on: Fri, May 15, 2020 at 8:34 AM
What is AutoSave?
Excel for Microsoft 365 Word for Microsoft 365 PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 More...
AutoSave is a new feature available in Excel, Word, and PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 subscribers that saves your file automatically, every few seconds, as you work.
AutoSave is enabled by default in Microsoft 365 when a file is stored on OneDrive, OneDrive for Business, or SharePoint Online.
Important: Do you use File > Save As after making changes to an original document or template? If so, we recommend using File > Save a Copy before making your changes. That way AutoSave won't overwrite the original file with the changes. If AutoSave did overwrite the file with your changes, see the section below, "I didn't want my changes saved, how do I go back?"
On Windows, AutoSave is available in Excel, Word, and PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 subscribers. Here are some frequently asked questions about it.
Did you find it helpful?
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.